WALGA State Council is the decision making representative body of all Member Councils, who are responsible for sector-wide policy making and strategic planning on behalf of Local Government.

State Council Structure

  • Chaired by the WALGA President
  • 24 Members (State Councillors): 12 from country constituencies and 12 from metropolitan constituencies
  • Members must be a serving Mayor, President or Councillor in a WA Local Government

State Councillors

WALGA President Mayor Tracey Roberts JP
Avon-Midland Country Zone President Cr Ken Seymour
Central Country Zone President Cr Phil Blight
Central Metropolitan Zone Cr Paul Kelly
East Metropolitan Zone Cr Catherine Ehrhardt
Cr Cate McCullough
Goldfields Esperance Country Zone President Cr Malcolm Cullen
Gascoyne Country Zone President Cr Cheryl Cowell
Great Eastern Country Zone President Cr Stephen Strange
Great Southern Country Zone VACANT
Kimberley Country Zone Cr Chris Mitchell JP
Murchison Country Zone Cr Les Price
North Country Zone President Cr Karen Chappel JP (Deputy President)
North Metropolitan Zone Cr Russ Fishwick JP
Mayor Mark Irwin
Cr Frank Cvitan JP
Peel Country Zone President Cr Michelle Rich
Pilbara Country Zone Mayor Peter Long
South East Metropolitan Zone VACANT
Mayor Ruth Butterfield
South Metropolitan Zone Mayor Logan Howlett JP
Cr Doug Thompson
Mayor Carol Adams OAM
South West Country Zone President Cr Tony Dean
Ex Officios  
Local Government Professionals State President Mr Jamie Parry
The Rt Hon Lord Mayor City of Perth Lord Mayor Basil Zempilas