The CIRG is established as consultative group to provide strategic advice and expertise to assist WALGA in the development and implementation of effective advocacy and policy in community development and social policy on behalf, and for the benefit, of the Local Government Sector.

The formation of the Community Industry Reference Group was endorsed by WALGA State Council in May 2019. The group consists of Local Government Directors and Managers in the field of community development. 

To view the Terms of Reference, click here

The membership of the group includes:

  • Kylie Johnson - City of Perth
  • Mark Bishop - City of Swan
  • Gail Bowman - City of Cockburn
  • Michael Holland - City of Rockingham
  • Natalie Martin-Goode - Town of Victoria Park
  • Arron Minchin - City of Karratha
  • Helen Sarcich - Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale
  • Debbie Terelinck - City of Wanneroo
  • Jude Thomas - City of Mandurah
  • Christine Young - City of Melville
The CIRG is currently seeking new members!

Local Government Members of WALGA may select, with CEO Endorsement, a Senior Officer for membership of the Community Industry Reference Group.

Representatives are required to meet the following guidelines:
  • Senior strategic leadership experience in the community development and social policy space; and
  • Demonstrated innovation within the Community Development sector.

To express interest please prepare a brief email addressing the above criteria and detailing why you are interested in becoming a CIRG member.

Email your expression of interest to