Leaders from Local Government have figured prominently in the most recent Australia Day honours with five representatives from the sector awarded an Order of Australia Medal.
The Order of Australia Medal (OAM) recipients were:
  • Cr Lynne Craigie – Shire of East Pilbara
  • Cr Donald Raymond Hammarquist – Shire of Upper Gascoyne
  • Ms Heather Henderson – City of Subiaco
  • Mr Lachlan Murray McTaggart – Shire of Upper Gascoyne
  • Cr Peter Francis Monagle – Shire of Harvey
The Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) recipient:
  • Cr Francis Roy Burgoyne – Shire of Harvey
WA Local Government Association CEO Ricky Burges congratulated all the recipients from the sector saying it demonstrated the commitment to the community.
Cr Craigie has been a Councillor at the Shire East Pilbara since 2003 and President since 2005, and was elected as President of the WA Local Government Association in 2015.
“The Association is very proud of Cr Craigie to have received such a prestigious commendation, one she so richly deserves,” Ms Burges said.
“Cr Craigie has a passion for her community of East Pilbara and for the Local Government sector as a whole and it’s fantastic to see someone so deserving receive recognition at such a high level.”