Officers and former Leaders from Local Government have figured prominently in the most recent Australia Day honours with five representatives from the sector awarded a medal.

Public Service Medal (PSM) recipient:
  • Noelene Jennings – Director of Corporate Strategy and Performance, City of Wanneroo

The Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) recipient:
  • Ronald Dullard – Former President, retired, Shire of Mundaring

The Order of Australia Medal (OAM) recipients were:
  • Christine Thompson  – Former Councillor, retired, Shire of Murray
  • Graeme Robertson – Former President, retired, Shire of Kulin

The Member of the Order of Australia (AM) recipient:
  • The late Eric Lumsden – Former Commissioner, City of Perth

WA Local Government Association CEO, Nick Sloan congratulated all the recipients from the sector, saying it demonstrated their commitment to serving the community.

“Public Service Medal recipient Noelene Jennings received the honour for outstanding public service, particularly to Local Government in WA,” Mr Sloan said.

“She has taken every opportunity to promote best practice across the sector and is a champion for performance improvement.

“The Association is very proud of the recipients who have received this prestigious commendation, one they so richly deserve.”